Polk County Board of County Commissioners

As outlined in the Polk County Charter, the Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) is the governing body of Polk County. Each commissioner is elected by a countywide vote for a four-year term, with a term limitation of eight consecutive years. Each of the five commissioners must reside in his/her district. Commissioners from Districts One, Three, and Five are elected in Presidential election years; Districts Two and Four are elected in the intervening years.

Elected county officials are subject to recall according to provisions of state law. The state Legislature is the only governing body with the power to create, abolish, or consolidate counties.

Each November, a Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by the members of the county commission. The Chairman selects the various Board committee chairmen who, in turn, work with the County Manager and the staff in developing and establishing Board policies.